Today History

16 September

16 September 1975, Papua New Guinea gain its independence from Australia. Papua New Guinea is a country located north of Australia, and east of Indonesia. Papua New Guinea area is 462,840 km2 (178,704 sq mi), Papua New Guinea is the world’s fifty-fourth largest country Papua New Guinea occupies the eastern half of the island of New Guinea, with Irian Jaya on the western half. The country is divided into 20 provinces and is possibly the most culturally diverse on earth, with over 700 languages and tribes from a population of just under 6 million people, many of which remain untouched by outside influence.

Province in Papua New Guinea
Province in Papua New Guinea

There are three official languages for Papua New Guinea. English is an official language, and is the language of government and the education system, but it is not widely spoken. The primary lingua franca of the country is Tok Pisin, in which much of the debate in Parliament is conducted, many information campaigns and advertisements are presented, and until recently a national newspaper, Wantok, was published. The only area where Tok Pisin is not prevalent is the southern region of Papua, where people often use the third official language, Hiri Motu

Now Papua New Guinea is conducted by Michael Somare, Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea. Papua New Guinea’s climate is tropical, as one would expect in a country located just south of the Equator. December to March is the wet season, although occasional rain falls year-round. While Port Moresby, the capital, and other towns on the coast are quite hot in the summer months, temperatures are considerable cooler in the Highlands. July, August, and September are the best months for trekking vacations.

Nearly 85 percent of the main island is carpeted with tropical rain forest, containing vegetation that is a combination of Asian and Australian species. The country is also home to an impressive variety of exotic birds, including virtually all of the known species of birds of paradise, and it is blessed with more kinds of orchids than any other country. The main religion in Papua New Guinea is Christian, although many citizens combine their Christian faith with some pre-Christian traditional indigenous practices. Papua New Guinea Flag is :

Flag Picture
Flag Picture

source : various source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *